top of page
Zoeken
  • Foto van schrijverHille Meetsma

Husam Khadra, vluchteling uit Gaza, schreef:



In Samos... where angels do not live


Certainly, we were not cowards when we escaped, because the darkness of our country is bleak and the light dies starving… On the personal level, I lived in Gaza, which does not exceed the total area of 360 square kilometers, and which is still under the control of Islamists, who have been trying to turn it into a black state characterized by poverty, unemployment, corruption and hatred of everything that suggests beauty.



For reasons of division and meeting, I chose life rather than death, and love rather than hatred… And I hardly decided to throw a quarter of a century of my memories into the rubbish bin, and to go ahead in a way that I do not know its end. I was obliged to embark on a flight of death to that distant country that I have been reporting for a decade during my work in the field of journalism and which I learned a lot about it. Here Europe, the land of beauty and the sacred right to live.



Since news’ denial is its confirmation, according to journalism, I was certain that seeking refuge in Europe was a good decision, especially since human rights are indivisible. I also did not hear during my professional career denying any frank news about the dealings of those States with the human being, regardless of his appearance or his language, except in a few individual cases. I am a human being with two feet and two upper arms, I also got a small vaccination, I went to school when I was young, then to the university, I played football and I learned to swim too. When I grew up, I mastered the art of writing and playing the strings of words. Yes, I mastered all this and even more.



By returning to the human right to self-determination, I ran the flight until I reached Europe, I threw up my worn out luggage in the Greek island of Samos, I was initially flooded with inner joy that made me feel like an innocent who was convicted of a heinous crime while standing on the execution platform.



I wish I did not rejoice… Within hours of my arrival, all the constants that I had believed in had fallen. Today I live the life of the primitive man who took from the mountains a dwelling and from the leaves of the trees as a garment. In fact, on an area not exceeding a few hundred meters, at the foot of a mountain lying on the island's abhorrent land, there is a refugee camp with more than 5,000 people of different nationalities and ethnicities; it does not protect them from conquering nature except some worn rags and shabby tents.



Here Samos… angels do not live here… Here I realized that death remains a good choice as long as it is a choice. But the hardest of death is, to be forced and have no choice. And since my motto is "there is always a choice" I actually decided to choose life again.



With the collapse of established constants, I cannot help but vilify every human belief; no matter how deep its roots are, because actually, there is no human law providing for the detention of human beings. And if there is a law to do so, there is no law provides that a person loses the rest of his humanity, by preventing him from entering a clean toilet, or being forced to eat rotten food, or preventing him from making love.



There is no law or belief that accepts a dog sitting in front of a fireplace that is touched by a beautiful woman on cold winter nights, and a few meters away, there is a tent where a mother and three children do not dare touch one another for fear of being hit by the rain of the sky.



There is also no reason to deny, I'm still here crying the horrors of what I saw. I remember daily my only visit to the zoo, and I start laughing with tears in the eyes. I did not know that one day I would be a monkey surrounded by walls and stoned with banana fruit. If only I could get what I wrote, monkey’s bananas are indeed edible, whereas ours is only serves to be a “rod” that destroys what remains of the roots of our humanity.

7 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven

Vandaag op Nieuwsuur: Samos

https://nos.nl/nieuwsuur/artikel/2295608-opvangkampen-op-samos-een-hel-dit-niet-eerder-gezien.html

Het vervolg

De bedoeling was dag ik op Hemelvaartsdag terug zou komen, vandaag dus. Ware het niet dat het Alfacollege (Hoogeveen/Groningen) mij belde om te praten over het project van Samos Volunteers, een te mak

bottom of page